Les Schwab says axel shifted

Old 12-01-2010, 05:56 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000 Sport
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Les Schwab says axel shifted

Apparently the rear axel needs shifted because the thrust angle is negative to much. Is that something i can do, and is it even that big of deal. Im not super mechanical but im getting there and developing quite the arsenal of tools, but at far as alignment and thrust angles im a complete newb.

Also they suggest i replace my ball joints to offset to help with tire wear and bring the camber up. Im not sure if there shot or they were just suggesting to get a buck. They rushed me right out without really giving me any damn answers. Its snow tire season at my friendly schwab lol.

Thanks
Old 12-01-2010, 06:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1992

Originally Posted by 541_halseth
Apparently the rear axel needs shifted because the thrust angle is negative to much. Is that something i can do, and is it even that big of deal. Im not super mechanical but im getting there and developing quite the arsenal of tools, but at far as alignment and thrust angles im a complete newb.

Also they suggest i replace my ball joints to offset to help with tire wear and bring the camber up. Im not sure if there shot or they were just suggesting to get a buck. They rushed me right out without really giving me any damn answers. Its snow tire season at my friendly schwab lol.

Thanks
Well ive never had any problems with Les Schwab until the last two years! Les schwabs always been a good company and ive done what they say cause they were right.

but then i noticed prices were changing around - I bet you could do it yourself. just need to research it abit. axles arnt that hard to aline/angle. I used to work for Freightliner we could do two axles on one of those things in about 6hours with the right tools