Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2015, 04:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0l v6
Default I'm new to the Cherokee life

Hi guys,
Next week my friends dad is giving me his 01 jeep cherokee sport, with 103,000 miles on it. It is completely stock and I want to lift it for sure so I can take it off roading. My question is what size lift should I go with? I want to just do some basic off roading to start and maybe get into some more advanced stuff later on. I really like the look with the wide tires, so should I also add spacers?
Old 02-20-2015, 04:34 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0 I-6

I prefer just a 3" lift on 31" tires. I'm not a hardcore off-roader and this set up does everything that I have needed to do. Anything over 3" and it gets expensive. As far as spacers, for almost the same price, you can buy new wheels from a couple of sources. A lot of people run spacers with no ill effect, I'd just prefer to not add any extra parts.
Old 02-20-2015, 05:17 PM

Ok! I think I'm going to do the Rough Country 3in suspension lift. Do I need to buy a steering stabilizer or anything like that, along with the kit?
Old 02-20-2015, 06:37 PM

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

first of all, welcome to the forum and xj life. you're going to love it.

second, slow down.
before spending any money on a lift and tires you should make sure everything is running in tip top shape. the lift does you no good broken down in your driveway.
check and if necessary replace all fluids (oil, trans, tcase, coolant, brake, diffs)
check and if necessary replace all tie rod ends and bushings. steering, control arms, etc
also all u joints

then, once you feel like you can drive your jeep to the north pole and back without a hiccup, take it out on a trail. see what it can do. xjs are ridiculously capable in stock form. gauge your needs from there.