Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Fear of Rolling Over

Old 01-20-2010, 10:32 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Fear of Rolling Over

I am pretty new to wheeling but absolutely love it. My xj is my daily driver and is on 31's with a 4.5" lift. I took it out for the first REAL wheeling trip in it and had one really scary moment. I went to climb this steep muddy hill and went sliding to the side which was much steeper...so now I was leaning heavily to one side and looking at the sky. I froze. My passenger got out which was very sketchy as he was on the high side. The jeep behind me (with 2 guys in it) and my pass. tied a couple straps to my jeep and with a little brute force and crawling very slowly I was able to get it turned square then made it up the hill.

This really had me thinking though. I REALLY DO NOT WANT to roll my xj. I don't mind some battle scars, but really can't afford to total it. It would deffinately be the end of my xj adventures for a very long time. So I guess my whole point in this is to get others thoughts and suggestions about how hard to push it but then what to do if you unexpectantly find yourself in this situation. Also, are there any easy roll cage solutions to keep your jeep still streetable after rolling without compromising interior room?

Thanks!
Old 01-20-2010, 10:39 AM
Registered Users

Year: 91 with lots of 01' parts
Engine: 01' 4.0L

o

Last edited by xjbones; 01-22-2010 at 10:25 PM.
Old 01-20-2010, 10:53 AM
Seasoned Member

Originally Posted by xjbones
not easy but here ya go.... it runs thru the roof inside too. you could do it without going thru the roof and lose no interior space.

Ultimately that is what I would want to do, but wonder if there is a less radical looking design (since my wife will still have to ride in it...LOL) that is still functional. I am not sure how little of a cage I could get away with and it still do its job.

Is that your daily driver?