Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Chasing a misfire, yes I've done my research, just need some direction

Old 04-29-2016, 06:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Chasing a misfire, yes I've done my research, just need some direction

I am not a mechanic, but since i bought this jeep a year ago i have replaced leaf springs (pita seized bolt in the frame rail), both motor mount and trans mounts. left U joint. fan clutch and thermostat. and the starter. did all this with just doing searches here and on other forums and youtube. this brings me to present I recently purchased a bafx odb2 tool (mode $6 is a mystery! to anyone knows of write up on how to understand it please let me know) and thats how i found out that my rough idle was linked to or caused by a misfire.

Here is the information i have

1996 Cherokee 4.0 auto 223k
runs awesome (other than the misfire and idle which flattens out after 1000rpm or so) there is some lifter tick but not near what i have seen in videos and it goes away at 1500rpms. (or is masked but the sound of the intake/exhaust) and sometimes completely when it warms up. The vaccum holds between 24-25 at idle peaks at 28 and lowest is 23.8. oil pressure seems strong between 60-just under 80 while driving and above 40 at idle. temperature use to be all over the place it got hot a couple of time but did not over heat. after replacing the fan clutch and thermostat it runs at 195 or under.

codes showing misfire in cylinder 1 (301) and random misfire in cylinders(300)

compression test showed
#1 70psi dry and 80psi wet (so not likely rings or broken rings?)
#2 125psi
#3 130psi
#4 125psi
#5 130psi
#6 140psi
I didn't have a lot of time to do this test so i'll complete another and wet/dry test in all cylinders.

Here is what i have done so far, all pre compression test.