Fabrication & builders section. All fabrication posts go here.
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ Only projects go here. Questions belong in modified tech.

Install Guide - H. D. Offroad Engineering Frame Stiffeners (Rear) 56k beware

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2012, 02:33 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L i6
Default Install Guide - H. D. Offroad Engineering Frame Stiffeners (Rear) 56k beware

Here is my guide on how to install the HD Engineering Rear Frame Stiffeners. I ordered the full set (front, middle and rear). As I complete the middle and front I will continue to post my guides on how I installed them. I am by no means a professional fabricator, just a shade tree mechanic so I’m not responsible for any issues you may come across following my guide. I'm just trying to help those out there who may be looking into these frame stiffeners.

As I have no past welding experience I decided to start with the rear frame stiffeners as they do not support as much weight as the front. I figured the more experienced I become from all the welding that these require, by the time I get to the front where the welds really matter I should have it down.

So let’s being shall we!

FedEx delivers the goods!!!

Name:  Rear1.jpg
Views: 2729
Size:  74.7 KB

As you can see from the pictures, they are shipped as is, not wrapped or boxed. 20lbs for the middle frame stiffeners and 26lbs for the front & rear. For a combined total of 46lbs added weight to the XJ. Beefy!!!

Name:  Rear2.jpg
Views: 2413
Size:  89.5 KB

Name:  Rear3.jpg
Views: 2395
Size:  75.8 KB

The sets are tac welded together.

Name:  Rear4.jpg
Views: 2360
Size:  55.7 KB

Name:  Rear5.jpg
Views: 2453
Size:  64.3 KB

Just use a grinder/cutting wheel and some screwdrivers to separate them all.

Name:  Rear6.jpg
Views: 2441
Size:  100.2 KB

Name:  Rear7.jpg
Views: 2405
Size:  115.6 KB

Name:  Rear8.jpg
Views: 2702
Size:  122.4 KB

Here they are laid out next to the XJ they will be installed on.