Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Sunroof won't close.

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2011, 07:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Sunroof won't close.

I just bought a 98 grand cherokee 5.9 limited and the owner told me the sunroof was stuck closed so I removed the complete sunroof and after putting the cables back in there correct position was able to get the sunroof retracted. But when I tried to close it the cables would just push out towards the back of the truck and the glass won't move? It looks like on the cable sleves where they go through the guide used to have some sort of glue or apoxy. Are they supposed to be glued to that part? If so has anyone tried to re-glue them back in. If someone sits in the back and holds those cable tight the sunroof closes just fine. I'm a import mechanic and this is my first american vehicle so they way the sunroofs are put together or completely different. If anyone has any input or ideas it will be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 10-23-2011, 11:54 AM

Year: 1997
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2

I had to replace mine. I found them at the junk yard. I'm not sure gluing would work but you could try it.
Old 10-24-2011, 07:37 AM

How hard it is to get the ends the connects to the glass? Whats weird is it looks like glue or some other supstance is all that holds the cables on from the factory.
Old 10-25-2011, 06:46 AM