Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Strange issue with my 04 Grand Cherokee...

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2009, 11:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2004
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.7 V8
Default Strange issue with my 04 Grand Cherokee...

Well, here is the issue...the passenger door will not lock, the window does not go up or down, and the interior lights stay on??? Any ideas?
Old 04-20-2009, 03:48 PM

all i can say is check all the wiring back in that area...i have an 04 too, but nothing like this has happened....

as far as the lights go make sure you didnt bump the interior light switch on the head light controls...where you dim and brighten the dash lights..i know ive bumped it before and put it in the position where all the interior lights come on

im not good at all with wiring, so thats the best advice i can give.....lol..

i dont think the door lock/window would be a fuse, bc if the fuse was bad, i think it would stop all the windows and door locks from working...i dont believe each door has its own fuse
Old 04-20-2009, 04:05 PM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 2004
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.7L V8

On my '04 WJ, inside the rear hatch area there is a dome light. I once pushed the light to turn it on while looking for something, and forgot about it. I later noticed the interior lights were on in the car. Doors were shut. I went crazy fooling with the headlight switch control for the dome light, to no avail. I then remembered the rear switch. I turned it off there and felt relieved. Maybe that's your problem.
As for the pass. door issue, check the harness in the door jamb area for damage. Also you could check for any possible codes. Those systems are controlled by the Drivers Door Module. http://www.wjjeeps.com/modules.htm
For WJ info go here. http://www.wjjeeps.com/index.htm