Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Slight leak still <arghhh>

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2011, 12:55 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee
Default Slight leak still <arghhh>

OK, well I still seem to have a slight drip from one bolt in my transmission pan and I'm afraid if I tighten it too much I'll jack up the gasket and have to do it all over again.

Is there any kind of outer sealant I can put on the bolts to minimize the drip? If worst comes to worst I'll just put a drip pan in the garage.

I haven't really driven it further then half a mile down the street and back. Is it possible getting it out on the freeway and getting everything nice and hot the gasket may seal a little better?

I'm no engineer but WHY can't they just put in a drain plug and an exterior filter system so you don't have to pull the whole damn drain pan?

My Saturn has a cartridge oil filter that is the EASIEST oil change I've ever done, it's located on the top of the engine and all you do is pop it off with a ratchet, replace the cartridge and put the cover back. You don't have to be a contortionist or have a ratchet with three extensions and two couplers to reach it and there is no mess cause all the oil drains right back to the engine.
Old 03-04-2011, 01:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2

They do sell a drain plug kit at autozone. I always put drain plugs on my rigs transmissions. When I drain them. On my 97 GC I just drilled a hole in the pan to drain it last weekend. Then welded a nut to the pan Put a nylon washer On the bolt. I have no leaks. Did your gasket move during installation?
Old 03-04-2011, 03:35 PM
CF Veteran

Received 23 Likes on 23 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors