Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Rough Country 3.5 Lift Problems.. Please Help

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2012, 11:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2 V8
Default Rough Country 3.5 Lift Problems.. Please Help

Hey guys... This is my first time lifting a jeep or truck of any kind and I ran into a few issues... I would also like to say that I did search but can't find anything...

Problem 1: after the lift was installed I noticed that after 35mph I get a vibrating feeling from under my feet... I brought it for a alignment and a balance and no change.. I also tried playing with the eccentric bolts on the lower control arms still no help..

Problem 2: After playing with the eccentric bolts I was standing in front of her having a heart to heart and noticed that the front axle has shifted more towards the passenger side about a inch inch and a half...

I'm at a loss here guys any help with be really appreciated...
Thanks in advance,
Joe

Edit: 1995 jeep zj 5.2 v8 full time awd

Edit2: removed front driveshaft and vibration still occurs... As far as the axle shifting I think that could be from drilling the new relocated hole for the track arm... Correct?

Last edited by Jeep95ZJ; 09-07-2012 at 02:11 AM.
Old 09-07-2012, 05:28 AM

You need to look into an adjustable trackbar. It allows you to "center" the axle after the lift. It should also help with the vibration.
Old 09-07-2012, 08:32 AM

Year: 1996
Engine: 5.2

Did you loosen all your control arm bolts and then retighten at ride height? If not there will be a lot of tension in the bushings. What does the track bar bushing look like? There is a lot more force on it so if it is even slightly worn it could cause a vibration as the axle shifts back and forth.