Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!
Old 09-18-2015, 12:20 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: 4WD - Four Wheel Drive Guides
Print Wikipost

Newbie with a part-time 4wd question

Old 09-22-2009, 03:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.7L V8
Default Newbie with a part-time 4wd question *pic added*

First off I want to say hi to everyone. I just signed up for this forum since I've been driving a 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo for about two months now and found this site while researching about my Jeep. I'm not really a Jeep or off-road enthusiast but I live in OH and travel for a living so a 4WD SUV was a necessity for me.

I ran into an interesting issue today with the "part time" 4WD setting and it has me pretty stumped and a bit concerned. The weather today was pretty crappy (pouring rain) and I was driving down a less than stellar country road so I put the Jeep in "full-time" 4WD to get extra traction. I drove through the bad weather so I put the car back into 2WD but the "part time" light on my dash stayed on. I thought this was odd but didn't think much of it until I went to leave later on. I had pulled into a parking spot and had a really hard time backing out (the "part time" light was still on). I know now that this is because the "part time" 4WD locks the drivetrain but what I don't understand is why the Jeep wouldn't go into 2WD. The owner's guide says you can shift between 2WD, part time, and full time at "any legal speed" and I wasn't going in excess of what could possibly be considered "any legal speed."