Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

New tires for 99 WJ

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2014, 01:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2006
Engine: 4.0
Default Help need tires!!!

I dont know if i am posting this in the right section. I am just trying to figure out if these new tires will fit my stock jeep wj without modification of if they require it, how much. I have a 99 Grand Cherokee with the stock 225/75/16s right now. I found a hell of a steal on some new tires with rims the only issue is they are 255/70/18. I just dont know if they will fit without rubbing and scrubbing or if I have to do any modification. I know the newer Wranglers come stock with the 255/70/18s. i am fairly new to the mechanical world of jeeps. I had an older xj before it died a horrible fiery death. Any help and advice is GREATLY appreciated.

a confused college kid
Jayson

Last edited by gsu0990; 02-05-2014 at 01:39 PM.
Old 02-05-2014, 02:39 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

I'm pretty sure you're going to need a 2" lift for the 18's. I'm running 245/70R16's on my WJ and they just about fill the wheelwells. After all, you're adding 2" of rim diameter plus a larger profile height (70% of 10mm X2).

I have problems with snowpack and I'm thinking about adding a 2" lift just because of that. I deliver newspapers usually before the plows come out to play, and even after, I have to stick my driver's front wheel into snowbanks to get to people's mailboxes. That wheel's fender liner is now loose and rubbing on the tire. Actually the front half of it has been worn away.

On the other hand, I think your WJ would look really cool on 18's! I'm not an expert on this, but you may need to trim the front bumper a bit.

Last edited by dave1123; 02-05-2014 at 02:46 PM.