Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Motor is smoking right after start up?!?

Old 01-06-2017, 10:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Motor is smoking right after start up?!?

ok so I'm new to this but I have a 95 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 inline six with an automatic. I had some heating issues and I replaced the entire coolant system, fuel pump, fuel filter, and flushed all the fluids. I checked the oil and it's not milky, and it fires up without an issue but the motor blows white smoke. I start it up and within a few seconds white smoke starts coming from the engine. I can't figure out what's going on.
Old 01-07-2017, 12:12 AM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L Inline 6

Did it do this before you did the cooling system upgrade?
Old 01-07-2017, 05:27 AM

Year: 2000
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 Petrol

White smoke sounds like auto gearbox fluid being burnt in the engine ?
Do these auto gearboxes have a vacuum module ?
The diaphragm can develop a pinhole and the engine can suck the fluid out on gearboxes which have these modules.
Check your gearbox fluid level as a precaution.
Old 01-07-2017, 06:31 AM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

No, there's no vacuum going to the transmissions on jeeps. Is it possible someone put diesel in the fuel tank? Kerosene will produce lots of white smoke when ignited by a spark plug.
Old 01-07-2017, 07:10 AM

Received 231 Likes on 134 Posts
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0 L