Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Hey peeps, zj 96 4.0l limited

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2019, 12:05 PM
Eth

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Grand Cherokee (ZJ)
Engine: 4.0
Default Hey peeps, zj 96 4.0l limited

Guys I've got probs (lol) I'm not a mechanic, I ain't got a big garage with amazing tools neither. Lol
But! I love mi truck and she's poorly, and I AINT killing her off . So any help is greatly appreciated.
I initially had a O2 upstream code ,so I fixed that (got new sensor) but needed run her a cpl weeks before that to get to work, she ran pretty ruff.Then I put her in my garage to fix her up for mot.
Probs she has ,
1 - I found oil puddle in air box housing
2- I renewed all plugs and distributor cap/rotor and found pot4 plug was like it has never been firing (clean as a whistle) checked spark ,got spark to all 6, got another code come up for injector (code 27) so I got an injector on the way, but I also got a £20 compression test kit and (I don't know if I trust it or not) but it gave me 0psi on pot 4 , 75psi on the rest apart from pot 1 50psi.which I know are all well under .
I've always thought I had a coolant loss since I bought her 1.5 yrs ago.(topping up prob every cpl months or less)
She has white smoke(not too bad) but it's there. She will start fine ,pull fine up and down the back of mi house.
But I'm needing to find out why pot 4 says no psi and isn't firing and why I have the oil in the air filter housing ?
I've taken rocker cover off and everythings clean as a whistle and all tapping away nice and quiet? Oh I do have a slight bit of white stuff in the top of my rad ,no bubbles tho when on tick over .