Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Grinding upon acceleration...HELP

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2010, 05:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2
Default Grinding upon acceleration...HELP

I just purchased my first Jeep. ('95 Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2) Every time I accelerate there is a harsh grinding sound coming from the front end that stops when I reach my intended speed. Also, it will not grind if I let on the gas real easy, only when I get into it a little. The same things happens in reverse. Does anyone have any idea what is wrong? I have zero experience working on vehicles...
Old 04-13-2011, 08:47 PM

Year: 1993
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 HO

Originally Posted by ZeeJay
I just purchased my first Jeep. ('95 Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2) Every time I accelerate there is a harsh grinding sound coming from the front end that stops when I reach my intended speed. Also, it will not grind if I let on the gas real easy, only when I get into it a little. The same things happens in reverse. Does anyone have any idea what is wrong? I have zero experience working on vehicles...
Im bumping i have same exact problem
Old 04-14-2011, 11:49 AM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 2004
Engine: 4.7L V8

Welcome to CF.
I'd check the CV/universal joints at the front hub area and in the front driveshaft. Then check the front hubs for play. If they're loose they can make a noise similar to what you're hearing. Put a jack under the axle housing and lift the tire off the ground. Grab the tire at the 9 & 3 o'clock positions and try and shake it back & forth to see see if it wobbles any. There shouldn't be any noticeable play. Try spinning it and listen for noise.
Old 04-15-2011, 06:49 AM

Engine: 4.0L I6