Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Drum brake leaking need help

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2012, 01:10 PM

Location: Clutier IA, where the jeep lays in wait, Pensacola, Florida, where im stationed.
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1994
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Drum brake leaking need help

Ok so I got the rear Dana 35 and my ZJ has drums on it. I currently have no rear brakes because my driver side drum is leaking fluid from the inside. See pics below. My question is should I try to fix the drum? I've never worked on drums before and I've heard there a pain. Or can I swap disk brakes onto this axle like the XJ guys do? Or should I just go to the junk yard and get a ZJ axle with disk brakes and swap that in? Let me know what you guys would recommend and what would be the best route for me to go. I'd love to do an 8.8 swap but I don't have a beefy enough welder. Any help at all is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Attached Thumbnails Drum brake leaking need help-image-319008708.jpg   Drum brake leaking need help-image-1419978378.jpg  
Old 07-04-2012, 01:26 PM
CF Veteran

Received 94 Likes on 85 Posts
Year: 1990, 1999, 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

that looks like a leaking wheel cylinder.
10 bux and about an hour of time to fix it.
Old 07-04-2012, 01:32 PM

Location: Clutier IA, where the jeep lays in wait, Pensacola, Florida, where im stationed.

Would that be part of the drum? I know that it is brake fluid because I had just filled it up and it all drained out from there.
Old 07-04-2012, 02:05 PM
pwb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0L I6