Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Crooked Mechanic.. Comments Greatly Appreciated 2008 Grand Cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2014, 01:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Crooked Mechanic.. Comments Greatly Appreciated 2008 Grand Cherokee

2​008 Jeep Laredo 3.7 V6... I think I have a criminal, thief mechanic.. I can help you with your PC - but I'm no mechanic. I am looking for feedback from those of you that are and possibly give me some insight as to what I have to do this week.

My Jeep was overheating and was able to drive it to a kwik-lube/minor repair shop. They told me the block was cracked and I would need to find the appropriate mechanic. I drove it home 2 miles and after it cooled down recorded​ 30 second video of it running, link at the bottom.

I found a mechanic and the circus began. First bid was 800; but that quickly changed to 1200.00 as he said the head was indeed cracked. I was OK with this. The head was taken to a machine shop where he again raised the price and told me the head was beyond repair and a new.rebuilt or used one CORRECTION TWO were now needed. He said that both heads have to be done or the Jeep would not run correctly after repairs. I went along all the way to this point where I met him at his shop and said NO MORE.. He said no more surprises, the final price would be 1700.00.. Confirmed and agreed not to exceed 1700.00 3 times on that day. I paid him another 600.00 leaving me a balance of $ 500.00, it was clearly understood that I would pay 500.00 when I picked my car up.. NOT THE CASE