Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Brush Guard

Old 07-21-2009, 02:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Brush Guard

Hello all,
I am an extreme newbie and will intro myself soon along with my jeep but a quick question first... I have a 1997 Grand Cherokee Limited and just bought a brush guard for it... the issue is the install is not straight forward... I called the guys from Black Horse (the makers of the guard) and they told me that it definitely is not a DIY project and it should of never been sold to the public.... grrrr... I put it on a lift at my mechanic buddy's garage and I can't see where the brackets would even connect... looks to me some fabrication and welding would need to be in order... and then the upper brackets go through the grill some how... has anyone ever had any luck with putting on on their similar year jeep?
Thanks,
Rick
Old 07-21-2009, 03:51 PM
CF Veteran

Model: Grand Cherokee

most of the brush guards such as those bolt to the brackets for the tow hooks. And for that matter, your ZJ may no even have brackets. It may just have holes for bolts. If you were to take the front cladding off, you would see the holes.

If I was you, I would attempt to return that thing...
Old 07-21-2009, 08:59 PM

Dave,