Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

98 jeep grand cherokee build

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2016, 04:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 98 jeep grand cherokee build

I have a 98 jeep grand cherokee laradeo, I want to build it into a trail/camping dig but still a dd I want a lift but I've seen everything from guys going 2.5-10" what is the happy medium I was thinking 3.5" and what should be done mechanically to make it more trail ready? I'm new to the jeep game.
Old 02-14-2016, 04:54 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

Welcome to CF!

6 or V8? What kind of terrain will you be using it in? Sand, mud, rocks? These things make a difference on what to do. Also, what is your budget?
Old 02-14-2016, 04:58 PM

Originally Posted by dave1123
Welcome to CF!

6 or V8? What kind of terrain will you be using it in? Sand, mud, rocks? These things make a difference on what to do. Also, what is your budget?
It's the v8 and being in foot hill's of colorado mud rock's I've never been on the trails be for but going camping and hunting that's the normal find in the terrain
Old 02-14-2016, 05:00 PM

Another question for a new guy how do you know the body type of the jeep I see guys refer to them like xj,zj,wj which one is it and how Can you tell?
Old 02-14-2016, 05:11 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 2001

Originally Posted by Dustin Kunau
Another question for a new guy how do you know the body type of the jeep I see guys refer to them like xj,zj,wj which one is it and how Can you tell?
You've got a ZJ....

Here's the break down:
Grand Cherokees
ZJ 93-98
WJ 99-04
WK 05-10
WKII 11- present

The XJ body style is the "Boxy" Cherokee. they were made from 84-01