Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

96 grand cherokee 4 wheel drive binding

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2013, 11:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 96 grand cherokee 4 wheel drive binding

hello im a newbie to the forum. so im still trying to figure this whole posting stuff, so hopefully i am in the right place. lol. i have a 96 jeep gc laredo 4.0 4 wheel drive. my issue is when i put the jeep in full time 4 wd and i get in a parking lot( dry condition) and make a sharp turn the jeep gets real jerky and makes some strange grinding noise like worn out pads eating into rotors, does it every time you make a some what hard turn. when going back into 2 wd it does it a few times then works its way out that it wont make the noise untill it is put back into full time 4wd. so is this normal ? this is the firs 4 wd i have owned and have never had this problem at the shop i worked at with other jeeps from the 90's. if not is it fixable? i have read that its normal and others have said that the tc needs replaced, or a coupler in the tc needs replaced, any help would be great and any lessons would be much appreciated. thanks again
Old 12-03-2013, 12:00 AM

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

Yea Im not sure about the binding but you definitely shouldn't use 4wd on dry pavement
Old 12-03-2013, 12:05 AM

Engine: 4.0 H.O

Driving in 4X4 on dry pavement while doing a full lock turn is a No No!
Old 12-03-2013, 06:24 AM
CF Veteran

Year: 1998

But he said "full time 4wd"...

Full-time should be okay for dry pavement. I don't have a 242, so I don't know much about them.
Old 12-03-2013, 06:32 AM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1990