Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Project 4 Banger Danger

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2016, 06:17 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0l
Default Project 4 Banger Danger

Disclaimer: I am a long-winded writer and this is a long post. If you don't care about the background of my XJ, skip to post # 2.

Background:

I needed a good winter vehicle and a friend sent me a craigslist ad for this 1993 Jeep Cherokee 2.5L 2-door 4X4 with 182k on the clock and the AX5. I had heard about Jeeps but knew nothing about them. After going to look at it, I picked it up. This was September 2015.
Here it is when I bought it:

It needed new tires to get through the winter, so I bought some Firestone Destination A/T’s in 235s. Lifts weren’t on my radar at the time; again I knew nothing about XJs.

I should mention that I am a “late bloomer” when it comes to wrenching on cars. I did not grow up working on stuff in the garage at all. I first got into it in about 2012. My pickup needed a brake job and I couldn’t afford what the shop was asking. So I decided to give it a whirl myself. It took me two days! Keep my lack of experience in mind…

I knew a high mileage vehicle this old would need some work from time to time so I started doing more research on Cherokees. A friend who used to own a Cherokee still had his Haynes manual and he was kind enough to give it to me. During this time I also found this forum. Little did I know that I was about to fall down the XJ rabbit hole…

I was living in the Black Hills of South Dakota at the time and hoped to go skiing over the winter, so after a friend gave me his old ski rack I threw it on.

I am also an avid pheasant hunter and discovered the Jeep works great as a hunting rig.

Forest service roads are fun too: