Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ORS Shop Jeep

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2013, 08:56 PM
Cherokee Forum Vendor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default ORS Shop Jeep

Hey guys. Figured I'd post up the little XJ I started putting together for myself and to showcase my products.

First I'll introduce myself. I am Chris Welch, owner of Off Road Specialties. My shop is a small custom fab shop mainly catering to hard core rock crawlers. I build buggies, cages, multi-link suspensions... ext. But I have always been a Jeep nut, mainly of the frameless variety. I've built a number of crazy one ton/linked monster Cherocars and figured I'd keep this one basic and small. I have been wheeling for close to ten years now. I started Action Fabrication in 2005 shut down to manage another shop in 2007. Then re-opened under the name Off Road Specialties in 2010. Literally all I've ever done is built crawlers.

So with the introduction out of the way The idea behind the build is 'simple'... I want something that drive well, is fairly comfortable while being capable and tough. I do a lot of hiking, mountain biking, climbing, kayaking, ext. And I want this to be the rig that gets me out there.

What I bought was an ex K-9 unit police jeep. Pretty basic 4.0/aw4/231/hp30/8.25/3.55. It had 189K on it when I bought it and was mechanically in perfect shape.

Remember I said it was a K-9 unit. Well, it looked like Chewbacca lived back there. Even my own dog thought it was filthy.

Sadly it did get into a slight fender bender which is why it was decommissioned and the new owner "fixed" it up with some spray on bedliner. So the grill and flares were screwed.

I was able to sand down the grill and shot it with some primer. I went ahead and just removed the flares. While I was at it I added one of my Extreme clearance Stubby Bumpers.