Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

my first 4x4 build

Old 12-05-2009, 11:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 i6
Default my first 4x4 build

i just traded my messed up atv for a 1991 cherokee with 185xxx miles. it has what im guessin is a 3 or 3.5 rustys springs with 31 1050. this is my first build with ne kind of 4x4 vehicle. i been doing sport bikes atvs and mini trucks and have all ways wanted to do a jeep since i rode in my uncles as a kid. when i traded my atv my lil cried bc she loves the mud so i want this to be safe for her bc she will be going wheeling with me. my ? is i want to put 31x1150 or 33x1350 super swamper ltbs on it and add another 1.5 or 2 inch lift. what would yall rec for and add on to the springs. and what would be the best buy for the money on that and shocks. im kinda workin on a tight budget. and what back spacing would you rec for the wheels. im not afraid of trimming prolly will do that neways. and i heard something bout the zj tierods or something up front being stronger, whats this. and i will be picking up the rear disc brakes off a zj from the local picapart. this is a pic of the jeep and my lil girl. and very sorry for this being way long just need some ideas thanx
Old 12-06-2009, 02:44 AM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1997 2 door
Engine: 4.0

If you have full 3" leafs some extended shackles will work along with some spacers in the front. Of course going higher you will need to replace other parts as well. A t-case drop or slip yoke eliminator will most likely be needed as well as longer control arms. Trimming will be your friend.
Old 12-06-2009, 10:23 AM

thx i knew about the tcase but didnt know bout the control arms. this project is kinda going to be learning point on things like this
Old 12-06-2009, 02:00 PM