Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fallon's Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2013, 11:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Fallon's Build Thread

Hello to Everybody!

I am an XJ Noob. Wow... I feel better already! I'm a dad with 4 sons and a Jeep fetish. My Jeeping interest started with CJs, and I thought I knew a fair amount about Jeeps. But my third son likes XJs, and I have learned that most of my knowledge doesn't carry over. So I am starting all over again. My son, Fallon, turned 14 last month. With my acquiesence he bought a '90 Cherokee Laredo 4X4 last year. It has the Renix 4.0, AW4, 187,000 miles, and pretty dang clean! He got it for a grand, and I am liking it so much that I have been thinking about selling the F150 and getting another. We started doing little things to it to "spruce" it up, but our plan is to mod it to a functional/capable level over the next two years. It should be ready to go when he turns 16. At least that's the plan. I have lurked over here quite a bit when I did the 4.0 swap into another son's CJ5. This is a good forum, and I need ya'lls help.

Since I have been a long-term Jeep Forum member I started a build thread over there in the XJ section. I have posted numerous pics/questions about our work, but the XJ section just doesn't have the feedback that is present in the CJ section. I need feedback! I don't know if I'm doing stuff correctly or not. Please feel free to comment/critique as needed. I have thick skin!

I don't know how much of this stuff you want to see? We just completed the Bastard Pack springs, and now I'm building relocation brackets. Lots of progress pics if someone wants to see them. Here is a pic of Fal at 13 with his new XJ (runs great, everything works!) and the donor XJ we are using for mock-up and as a parts source.

Glad to be here...