Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Bulldog Project

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2017, 11:08 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee
Default The Bulldog Project

After swapping my head out last week, I figure it's time to start a build thread/keep track of everything I'm putting into my 2001 XJ Limited.

This is the Bulldog Project. I'm a UGa grad and have been trying to get back to the south since I left. This build is going to take a tone of patience and tenacity, hence Bulldog. Also, I'm going to keep the color scheme to red and black with silver accents. Go dawgs

3 years ago, I purchased my cherry red 2001 XJ limited with 84K on the odometer. It had been a fleet vehicle (who uses that as a fleet vehicle is beyond me, but ok) and then sat idle for a number of years until I found it. I'm in the northeast, but thankfully the rust situation is not bad at all. Axles, driveshafts and the entire exhaust system will need to come out along with brake lines, but it doesn't have any major rust spots on the undercarriage or the body.

At this point, it's pretty much still stock. It's my DD and will continue to be for the foreseeable future. The end goal is to build a capable overland style rig that's reliable and safe enough to load my wife, and eventually children, into for camping and mild off-roading. This build is going to go in short spurts. I'm committed to putting a good bit of money into it to ensure that I've got high quality parts and am willing to take my time in acquiring said parts. I know some will give me grief for going that route that I am, but I'm ok with it.

This is really here for me to keep everything in one place. Hopefully others can get some enjoyment/ideas out of this and I can get some advice along the way.

Current drivetrain:
LPDana30 front axle
Chrysler8.25 rear axle
NP231J transfer case
4.0I6 242 AMC

Work completed so far: