Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

building the wifes JEEP

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2012, 12:12 PM

Received 52 Likes on 51 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default building the wifes JEEP

So this is my first build thread ever, though I am no stranger to working on cars. My wife and I just purchased and XJ a few weeks ago. We both enjoy camping and off roading and we want to enjoy it now as a family. This is the pic of the jeep when we bought it

Its a 1998 sport with 96k miles everything works which is important being my wife DD. It has a 3" skyjacker lift which I hate and is on 31" Firestone ATs

My mission with the jeep is to increase its capibility off road as well as increase its ride comfort while maintaining livable mpg and drivability.

Last edited by aka"dude"; 08-02-2015 at 08:06 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Carlos Manuel Davis (06-15-2020)
Old 10-02-2012, 12:16 PM

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 1993

Fun.

So, what are your plans?
Old 10-02-2012, 12:24 PM

first figure out how to post pics

then really first would be armor type stuff. JCR stage 2 sliders, JCR front bumper and other recovery type stuff. We will do most of our wheeling alone so the Highlift, sliders, and recovery points rank. After that in the more distance future will be bilstiens, long arms, sye and all that good stuff. I really dont want to go much over 4.5 total lift. I read the low cog suspension thread and thought "my thoughts exactly". It doesnt have to be huge to be capable.
Old 10-02-2012, 12:41 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1992
Engine: 4.0 HO

Originally Posted by aka"dude"
first figure out how to post pics