Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Black Sheep Jeep

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2015, 11:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Default I picked the wrong XJ - 2001, NP242, D35 - Help!

Hello fellow jeepmates!

As my profile probably shows, I'm a newbie to the Jeep community - but don't run away just yet. I've spent anywhere from 3-4 hrs every day the last 3 weeks or so reading the literal crap out of these forums in an attempt to educate myself and get familiar with the community. I know most of the lingo now and have a pretty good understanding of what I want to do.

My conversion story for your reading pleasure:

I run a Resort in hot, sunny, Southern Utah -- home of the beautiful red rocks and one of the many meccas for rock crawling. Despite the scenery, I never considered building a machine to crawl them.

I recently decided I needed a utility truck to use instead of beating up my sports car to haul things around the Resort so I canvased classifieds with a $4,000 budget in cash to dump on a hauler. I almost bought a couple pickups, and then I found her - a little silver Jeep Cherokee. 120,000 miles, 2001, cherry interior, bone-stock and fairly well maintained.

And that, that, is when the temptress took over. I have been obsessed with what the future may hold for my new money pit and have spent countless hours trying to make decisions.

My head is literally tied in knots, and I am stuck between two tectonic plates of fear.