Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

89 limited xj money pit

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2010, 10:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 89 limited xj money pit

Hello guys, My name is Eric. I live in socal, city of orange to be specific. Was going to make an intro, but figured i would roll it into my project thread. Hope that is ok...

My story,
So i was sitting around one day and i was like hey i need something that requires constant attention, and will take all my money. My attempts failed with a woman, so i went with the next best thing that filled the criteria... a jeep . The good news is its not my daily driver so i dont have to worry about it being safe or reliable . The bad news is, im a student and dont have ample cash to blow, but i do make decent.

I scored a 89 xj limited with np242 tcase, and upgraded towing package fully running for only 900. So far i have been out to holy jim, twice and a few other small local spots and am loving it. The the major things i have done so far are, install a cb set up, build a roof rack, build a rear bumper (stock one had been hit pretty bad, but no frame damage, and xj still has a clean title), and finally replace the rear main seal.

The issue, for this thread at the moment, is i want to lift it, and i need advice. I keep running circles in my head on what to do, and i need input on what is best value. I have about 700 at my disposal, and really want to do a 3.5 rubicon express kit, but i am told that i cant really do it realistically with out spending around 1k. The dilemma is the body and suspension has about 230k miles on it, and things like the rear leaf are mighty saggy. I will need new stuff, and feel like my only option is to do a kit.

Any thoughts?