2000 TDI (blacky) - Page 20 - Jeep Cherokee Forum

Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.

2000 TDI (blacky)

Old 12-18-2018, 06:31 AM
  #286  
Senior Member
 
CR-Snow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 734
Year: 01
Model: Cherokee
Default

Originally Posted by evguy View Post
I have been fighting a vibration for the last two winters.
Replaced driveshaft Ujoints and even pulled the front shaft for a while.
Nothing helped.
After a long drive last night I was pissed.
Today I pulled the old stock wheels and tires out of the bush and installed.
FIXED!! (looks like crap)
First time in 35 years I have had a perfectly good set of tires vibrate so badly when almost new.
They are 3 years old now but we only drive it 5 months of the year in the winter so really only 1.5 years on them and not many miles since we use my truck for longer trips.
They are 31 X 10.5 Goodyear Duratrac's anyone else have this problem?
I was running them at 32 PSI and dropped them to 28 but no help.
They are really lumpy when rolling up to a stop sign, like cogging.
Did you happen to buy the tires at a dealer or reputable shop? Sometimes a good shop will warranty or swap out If out of warranty. A company like good year cares a lot about reputation so you could get lucky.

I dont happen to run good years though, so no personal experience.

Also, I just joined the tdi swapped trucks Facebook page. Iíve got some money coming soon and Iím heavily considering swapping my jeep. My big concern is my jeep is an 01 with an automatic. Iíd love a 5 speed swap but apparently the later year xjís are tough to 5 speed swap in general. If I could completely do away with the factory jeep computer that would be lovely. Any chance of keeping a Speedo and tach or any other factory gauges without using the factory computer?
CR-Snow is offline  
Old 12-18-2018, 07:43 PM
  #287  
Member
Thread Starter
 
evguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Errington BC Canada
Posts: 147
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: VW TDI Diesel
Default

Local Goodyear (Fountain tire) is a BIG place doing lots of commercial trucks and when I called and VERY polity explained my problem he said "all the guys here run Duratacs with no problem, We can Road balance them for $48 per tire"
So for $200 they will re-balance them for me.
I have BFG's on all the rest of our personal and fleet trucks and would never buy Goodyear again.
You will love a TDI swap especially if you throw a bit more power at the engine. I get a grin whenever my wife lets me drive it.
Should be no problem doing the manual swap and keep the ECU. The ecu is then just running the dash, I had no problem with my 2000.
The TDI is a stand alone ECU so it does not have to talk to the Jeep at all.
evguy is offline  
Old 12-19-2018, 07:02 AM
  #288  
Senior Member
 
CR-Snow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 734
Year: 01
Model: Cherokee
Default

Originally Posted by evguy View Post
Local Goodyear (Fountain tire) is a BIG place doing lots of commercial trucks and when I called and VERY polity explained my problem he said "all the guys here run Duratacs with no problem, We can Road balance them for $48 per tire"
So for $200 they will re-balance them for me.
I have BFG's on all the rest of our personal and fleet trucks and would never buy Goodyear again.
You will love a TDI swap especially if you throw a bit more power at the engine. I get a grin whenever my wife lets me drive it.
Should be no problem doing the manual swap and keep the ECU. The ecu is then just running the dash, I had no problem with my 2000.
The TDI is a stand alone ECU so it does not have to talk to the Jeep at all.
Thanks for the info. What about Calling good year directly? Explain that youíre a business owner and this is your first experience with the tires. Could be worth a shot.

Keep up the good work.
CR-Snow is offline  
Old 12-29-2018, 02:33 PM
  #289  
Member
Thread Starter
 
evguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Errington BC Canada
Posts: 147
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: VW TDI Diesel
Default

Does anyone have any experience with using the signal from high beams to turn on driving lights?
My 2000 has daytime running lights which uses high beams at low power so that complicates things a bit.
In the old days I could just pull 12V off the high beam wire and run a relay with that. Now the daytime running lights have enough voltage to vibrate the relay. Is there another place to pickup the high beam signal?
evguy is offline  
Old 12-29-2018, 02:52 PM
  #290  
CF Veteran
 
SatiricalHen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 5,223
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: 4.0
Default

Originally Posted by evguy
Does anyone have any experience with using the signal from high beams to turn on driving lights?
My 2000 has daytime running lights which uses high beams at low power so that complicates things a bit.
In the old days I could just pull 12V off the high beam wire and run a relay with that. Now the daytime running lights have enough voltage to vibrate the relay. Is there another place to pickup the high beam signal?
Could you pick it up off the switch in the column maybe? I'd assume the half power DRL wouldn't mess with that.
SatiricalHen is online now  
Old 03-10-2019, 12:43 AM
  #291  
Member
Thread Starter
 
evguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Errington BC Canada
Posts: 147
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: VW TDI Diesel
Default

Added LED's to both Jeeps last week. I had installed Hella headlights with Silver star bulbs when I built the XJ but they were still not that great on our dark country roads.
The LED's in the bumper were first a couple of months ago but the LED Headlights made such a big difference I wish I had done them last winter.
evguy is offline  
Old 03-10-2019, 09:14 AM
  #292  
Senior Member
 
rzldzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: cariboo, bc
Posts: 566
Model: Cherokee
Default



both my 98s driving lights are triggered by high beam circuit, i use a solenoid instead of relay and i have a switch on the dash so i can just use headlight highbeams in town
rzldzl is offline  
Old 03-11-2019, 09:40 AM
  #293  
Member
Thread Starter
 
evguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Errington BC Canada
Posts: 147
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: VW TDI Diesel
Default

Yes back in the day I used to do the same thing but both these Jeeps have Daytime Running Lights which puts the high beams on at half power during the day. Cant use the high beam signal anymore, maybe a voltage sensitive relay would be the solution.
Now with the LED headlights the bumper lights are not as important.
Your two Jeeps lights remind me of my long ago rally days.
evguy is offline  
Old 03-11-2019, 01:33 PM
  #294  
Senior Member
 
rzldzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: cariboo, bc
Posts: 566
Model: Cherokee
Default

Originally Posted by evguy View Post
Yes back in the day I used to do the same thing but both these Jeeps have Daytime Running Lights which puts the high beams on at half power during the day. Cant use the high beam signal anymore, maybe a voltage sensitive relay would be the solution.
Now with the LED headlights the bumper lights are not as important.
Your two Jeeps lights remind me of my long ago rally days.
i retrofitted 100w hids into the lightforces...theyre retarded bright....100km/h bright but i live 15km up a logging road, so they get used

the led lights on the black one (wifes) are bright but only half the distance bright, but way cheaper to

both my jeeps are DRL as well....if i have the jeep headlights off and my driving light switch on and pull my high beam stalk, i get solenoid chatter

solution- turn on headlights, everything works...

headlights on low and driving light switch off,
headlights on low and driving light switch on (waiting for signal),
headlights on high and driving light switch off
headlights on high and driving light switch on.

not aware of drl changes between 98 and 00

if you put your headlight switch on, doesnt that override the drl signal to the high beams? seems to solve mine

if it doesnt, try tapping into the wire that lights up the high beam light on your dash
rzldzl is offline  
Old 03-11-2019, 11:41 PM
  #295  
Member
Thread Starter
 
evguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Errington BC Canada
Posts: 147
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: VW TDI Diesel
Default

Yes turning on the headlights makes it work OK but you have to turn the driving lights off manually during the day.
I have a 150 amp Voltage sensing relay VSR coming which will not energize below 12.8V. I think that will solve my problem.
It should not allow the driving lights to come on during the day but then allow them to come on with high beams, I hope.
evguy is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Freda L. Worley Harris
Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here!
3
04-09-2016 07:54 PM
Lightning_19k
Modified XJ Cherokee Tech
14
10-03-2015 09:52 PM
heatherd1977
Jeep Builds
2
09-28-2015 02:21 PM
john,k
Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here!
4
09-27-2015 10:19 PM
evguy
Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here
14
09-27-2015 10:58 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2000 TDI (blacky)


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: