Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1986 Cherokee - "Jezebel"

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2013, 10:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1986
Model: Cherokee
Engine: None presently
Default 1986 Cherokee - "Jezebel"

I'm new to Jeeps, trail rigs, etc. I also haven't gotten to do a lot of wrench turning other than fixing snowmobiles and daily driver cars. So when a friend mentioned a 1986 Cherokee Laredo 2-door that he was going to ditch for scrap I took the opportunity for a fun project. I also live pretty close to an OHV park, so as a bonus I can probably get some decent use out of it. I'm also new to posting on forums, just a heads up.

The Jeep itself is in pretty good shape for a 1986. Overall the body is solid (only a couple of dents from a deer). The floor boards have some rust but not too bad. The engine has some issues, but from what buddies and other forums say it isn't a bad thing to upgrade anyway (I have the 2.8L V6).

For those of you wondering about the title "Jezebel", it comes from the owner before the one I bought it from. The guy I got it from nicknamed it after her and it kind of stuck.

Anyway, onto the build. I've already started buying a bunch of stuff and doing some work, so it's about a month in progress. I work a full time job and am going for my master's degree in electrical engineering, so progress will be hit and miss at times. The goal of the build is to be a capable daily driver yet fun off road as well. Since most of my wrenching experience has been on broken vehicles that I need to get running and not fun builds, I also want to use this as a chance to learn some engine work/etc and more about the different parts of a 4 wheel drive vehicle. I've got a handful of buddies who are giving advice and assistance, but any additional comments/suggestions are always welcome.

Upgrades I'm planning:
Bushwacker cutout flares