Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

why an xj?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2009, 10:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 H.O.
Default why an xj?

why did you choose to build/drive your xj did you find it or did it find you? personally my xj found me and i couldnt be happier i work as a mechanic and i was doing a timing belt on a honda and the kid didnt have much money but he did have this xj for sale with a blown headgasket so i traded my labor for the jeep with the intentions of fixing it then selling it but it just seemed so right when i drove it i was at peace. then i took it out 4wheeling and that was it it was off the market. it was like destiny by the way it rides and wheels, in my opinion, so much better than my wifes yj id like to hear your stories
Old 05-01-2009, 10:41 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0

I used to be into yj's and tj's but then my sister met my brother n law. He only wheeled xj's. The first time I met him he took me out in his 92 two door sport siting on 40 inch boggers and I was hooked. He was the one that found my xj for me and i couldn't be happier with it.
Old 05-01-2009, 11:07 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0L

I'm on my second XJ. My first XJ definitely found me. About 10 years ago, I was inspired by Dave Ramsey to sell a Honda that I owed WAY too much money on, so I was looking for something less expensive to reduce my debt and pay off quickly. I just wanted some type of SUV and my cousin who owns a car lot called and said, hey I have this nice blue 94 cherokee. So I bought it and shortly thereafter came to understand the "Jeep thing".