Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

what would you do

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2012, 11:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what would you do

I bought a 98 jeep Cherokee with 156,000 miles. I now have 168,500. The people I bought it from took care of the vehicle, i.e., serviced by schedule. I do know they replaced the transmission. I recently replaced the radiator. Other than these two things I don't know if they replaced anything else, like the timing belt. They did say they had a new serpatine belt. I'm a graduate student, not too mechanically savvy and limited with funds. What are some things that you would do to ensure the jeep continues running well, i.e., tune up etc.
Old 03-15-2012, 11:08 AM
CF Veteran

Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0, comp cam, 99 intake, apn header, neon injectors, Thunderbolt 2.5" High Flow Cat

tune up and all fluids obviously... (oil, coolant, transmission fluid, transfer case fluid, front and rear differential fluids)
Old 03-15-2012, 11:14 AM

Year: 1987
Engine: 4.0 (of course) ;)

Originally Posted by 98JeepGrad
I bought a 98 jeep Cherokee with 156,000 miles. I now have 168,500. The people I bought it from took care of the vehicle, i.e., serviced by schedule. I do know they replaced the transmission. I recently replaced the radiator. Other than these two things I don't know if they replaced anything else, like the timing belt. They did say they had a new serpatine belt. I'm a graduate student, not too mechanically savvy and limited with funds. What are some things that you would do to ensure the jeep continues running well, i.e., tune up etc.