Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Valve Cover Gasket Replacement - Gunk City.

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2013, 05:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Valve Cover Gasket Replacement - Gunk City.

Long story, short - I bought a jeep for $700. I'm new to the wonderful world of jeeps. I went to replace the valve cover gasket this afternoon and got a bit of surprise. The jeep was obviously neglected pretty bad.

It's about half an inch thick in some places. So far I have been scrubbing it off and vacuuming with a powerful shop vac. I have the oil holes plugged with towels until I get the big stuff out.

I can now see some of the engravings on the head!

I plan on running 1/3 seafoam in the oil tomorrow for about 20 miles. I plan on running some through the brake booster vacuum. I will then change the oil and filter. I will probably change the oil every 500 miles for awhile.

Valve Cover Gasket Replacement - Gunk City.-oplur1b.jpg

Thoughts? Advice? Send me a new motor?
Old 11-23-2013, 06:11 PM
CF Veteran

Received 82 Likes on 67 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by Turbo Supra
Long story, short - I bought a jeep for $700. I'm new to the wonderful world of jeeps. I went to replace the valve cover gasket this afternoon and got a bit of surprise. The jeep was obviously neglected pretty bad.

It's about half an inch thick in some places. So far I have been scrubbing it off and vacuuming with a powerful shop vac. I have the oil holes plugged with towels until I get the big stuff out.

I can now see some of the engravings on the head!

I plan on running 1/3 seafoam in the oil tomorrow for about 20 miles. I plan on running some through the brake booster vacuum. I will then change the oil and filter. I will probably change the oil every 500 miles for awhile.