Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Two Radiators in my '98 XJ?

Old 11-18-2017, 01:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 6 cyl
Default Two Radiators in my '98 XJ?

Hey, All! I'm a relative newbie here but would appreciate a bit of help. For some time now, I've noticed coolant leaking out of my front end and recently, it's gotten a lot worse. At the moment, I'm having to replace two of my transmission cooler lines as well (leaking), so I figured this is a good time to take care of the radiator, too.

When ordering, none of the schematics I'd seen showed another (thinner) radiator attached to the front of the main radiator, so I didn't order it. It wasn't until I took out my old one that I even discovered the one in front. Anyway, I've been looking online but can't find a schematic of it anywhere, so I don't even know what to call it! Anyone here know or have any guesses? I'm thinking maybe I should replace that, too, since it's most likely the one to start leaking (taking a rock through the grill, for instance).

Thanks a million!
Old 11-18-2017, 05:07 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Engine: 4.0

Hi from Germany,
the "thinner radiator attached to the front of the main radiator" is the A/C condenser:
http://www.jcwhitney.com/spectra-pre...1163y1999g34j4

The transmission cooler is attached to the main radiator on the left side. If the A/C condenser leaks, you won't see any fluid because this is A/C gas!
Cheers
Michael
Old 11-18-2017, 06:13 AM
CF Veteran

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 97

Originally Posted by michaelo
The transmission cooler is attached to the main radiator on the left side. If the A/C condenser leaks, you won't see any fluid because this is A/C gas!
Cheers
Michael