Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

transmission

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2008, 09:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default transmission

Noob here! I have a 1996 Cherokee that seems to sort of surge when I put it into drive. It shifts fine while driving though. Is this normal? If not what can cause this hard shift into gear?
Old 05-15-2008, 09:16 PM

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by dirtydeeds
Noob here! I have a 1996 Cherokee that seems to sort of surge when I put it into drive. It shifts fine while driving though. Is this normal? If not what can cause this hard shift into gear?
How much force is this "surge"?

It is normal for you to feel a little jump when shifting into gear.
Old 05-15-2008, 09:20 PM

I suppose it is more than I am used feeling in any of the other cars/SUVs I have had. I just got this today and it is my first jeep. It almost seems like it wants to move forward by itself although no accelerator is applied.
Old 05-15-2008, 09:21 PM

I suppose it is more than I am used feeling in any of the other cars/SUVs I have had. I just got this today and it is my first jeep. It almost seems like it wants to move forward by itself although no accelerator is applied.
Most if not all auto trannys have power in both D and R.
Old 05-15-2008, 10:35 PM

Well i used to work at a delta sonic and i guess Cherokees and grand Cherokees coming out of the wash when u put in N to D there serge out really fast and the driver loses control. but doesn't happen every time we always call a CODE 3 when a Cherokee comes through the wash so the workers can move out the way if it ever did happen.
Old 05-15-2008, 10:47 PM