Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Tinting taillights and turn signals?

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2012, 06:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Tinting taillights and turn signals?

Hey guys Im new to the Cherokee forums and I just recently bought a can of VHT NITESHADE, some clear coat, and some 2000 grit sand paper. Im thinking about tinting my taillights. But the thing is I'm not sure how many coats to put on. Do you guys think one or two (possibly 3) coats of nite shade would be enough for the lights to still be visible? If anyone has tinted their tailights/turnsignals could you please post them on this thread so I could see them?
Thanks.
-AJ
Old 01-21-2012, 06:59 PM

Year: 93
Engine: Big 6

I put three on mine
Old 01-21-2012, 07:10 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1988
Engine: 4.0

look on youtube a guy has a great video on how he did it, its very detailed.
Old 01-21-2012, 07:49 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000

Please do not tint your tail lights. Think about it, if your tail lights/brake lights are less bright to the drivers behind you an accident is much more likely and you may be held liable for the accident.
Old 01-21-2012, 08:03 PM
Herp Derp Jerp

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II

Originally Posted by DaddyCat
Please do not tint your tail lights. Think about it, if your tail lights/brake lights are less bright to the drivers behind you an accident is much more likely and you may be held liable for the accident.
X2. Safety trumps aesthetics
Old 01-21-2012, 08:12 PM

Year: 1989
Model: Wagoneer
Engine: 4.0L I6