Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Time for a new engine?

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2011, 12:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 5.0
Default Time for a new engine?

I'm NOT a mechanic and am forced to rely on what I'm told by people who are supposed to know what they are talking about. In this form I have read many reasons why my 98 Cherokee is losing oil pressure when the engine warms up. These range from the pressure gauge malfunctioning, blown head gasket, cracked head, to the engine is shot. The mechanics I've talked to face to face are telling me the oil pressure is not happening because of the above issues or a bad oil pump, but it is due to either poor maintenance, or a previous blown head gasket / cracked head that was not fixed before damage was done to the rest of the engine. Whatever the cause, the engine is shot and needs to be rebuilt or replaced. This, of course, is expensive but it is also expensive to replace a head. I don’t want to spend a load of money on replacing parts that won't cure the pressure problem, when I can spend a couple hundred dollars more for a yard engine in good condition. I know the folks on this form have a lot of Cherokee specific knowledge, and I would like to hear from some opinions on the advice I am receiving from the mechanics. By the way, the pressure gauge is new and reading accurately.
Old 05-12-2011, 12:17 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Engine: 4.0 stock

How low of an oil pressure are you talking? Some people think 20PSI @ idle is low...
Old 05-12-2011, 12:21 PM

It will go down to 10, but usually between 10 & 20. It has not dropped to 0, or gotten to where a warning light will activate.
Old 05-12-2011, 12:24 PM

Another thing. The vehicle feels strong, and there are no unusual or worrisome noises, knocks or vibrations.