Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Sways With Slightest Dip in Road

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2016, 01:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Sways With Slightest Dip in Road

Hey guys newbie here, new to the xj world, been a cj guy for a long time. I bought a 92 xj, cheap, 184k, runs sweet, hardly any rust. I put a new, used rear in it and gave it a good ride around the neighborhood. I notice whenever ya hit the slightest dip in the road, the whole jeep dips to the right or left. I put new front sway bar links and bushings which were wasted, its better but not right. I can stand next to this jeep and rock it, like no jeep ive ever owned before. The rear springs are flat, ok to be expected, front coils look ok, replaced rear shocks, steering stabilizer, the rear has a sway bar, idk why, never had one of those on a cj, does that do anything?? Front track bar looks ok I guess, it feels top heavy when driving it, way too much body roll, what am I missing??
Old 11-14-2016, 01:16 PM
CF Veteran

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by jeepjunk4