Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Stuck axle nut!

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2011, 05:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Stuck axle nut!

Hey everyone. Just wondering if anyone has any good ideas for getting one of the front axle nuts off? Its been soaking in pb blaster and I broke my breaker bar using a 5ft cheater. It is seriously stuck! My u-joint is real bad and I need to get to it. Is it safe to torch it? I dont want to damage anything.
Old 04-20-2011, 06:14 AM
CF Veteran

Received 94 Likes on 85 Posts
Year: 1990, 1999, 2000

impact gun.
if you can't drive it to a shop to have them hit it with their gun, then you might have to bite the bullet and get yourself an electric impact gun.
i have a mastercraft 7.5 amp gun that has something like 240lb/ft of torque.
i've taken axle nuts off the oldest rusted jeep with little to no effort, every time.

and their good for lug nuts too.
Old 04-20-2011, 06:33 AM
CF Veteran

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Year: 87
Model: Wagoneer
Engine: 4.0 I6

try tightening it a little to help free up the rust. then just work it. impact could work over time. may take some time.
Old 04-20-2011, 07:01 AM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1998

Originally Posted by caged
impact gun.
if you can't drive it to a shop to have them hit it with their gun, then you might have to bite the bullet and get yourself an electric impact gun.
i've taken axle nuts off the oldest rusted jeep with little to no effort, every time.

X2

Impact tools FTW
Old 04-20-2011, 07:14 AM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0 HO

Originally Posted by caged
impact gun.