Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Smog Failure 1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2022, 04:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Smog Failure 1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport

Hello,
I'm new to the self repair world and am interested in learning how. That being said, I took this 94' XJ to pass for smog for Los Angeles, CA. Everything passed except the NO (PPM) at 25mph.
15mph: MAX-517 MEAS-322
25mph: MAX-539 MEAS-937

When I asked the guy doing the smog test what general area this issue would take place in to get an idea of where to look first he said he had no clue. Any chance ya'll would know where to look?

Thanks,
Jane
Old 06-28-2022, 09:58 PM
CF Veteran

Received 277 Likes on 243 Posts
Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0L

I would start at the EGR valve and if that is working then , Look at the Catalytic Converter .
Old 06-29-2022, 08:40 AM

Received 309 Likes on 214 Posts
Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0

You're jumping in at the deep end with a NOx failure on a Cal vehicle but a few things.

​​​​​​FInd the emission label back on the firewall. It will tell you if It's a California vehicle? Probably but you never know.

The emission label will tell you if it has an EGR system. I don't think 94 will but check the label.

Replacing the catalyst is major money if it's California vehicle but before you get to that point a few things that can increase engine out NOx (and if engine out is high enough a new cat won't fix it anyway)

The EGR system...but don't think it has one but check
Running lean. Check for vacuum leaks,might want to replace O2 sensor if it's been in there a while.

Running hot..is the coolant temp where it should be.

Ignition timing. Not too much to do with that unless things have been hacked.
Compression ratio/combustion chamber deposits. Higher CR will increase NOx.