Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Seafoam??

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2011, 11:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 93
Model: Cherokee
Engine: Big 6
Default Seafoam??

What should i Seafoam? I've never done it before but I think it might help the xj run better.. Any help in what and how to do it would be appreciated..
Old 11-25-2011, 11:27 AM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2 v8

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=How+to+seafoam+jeep+cherokee
Old 11-25-2011, 11:30 AM

Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0

I've used it..i never noticed anything different in performance or increase in mpg...
Others on here swear by it though.
Old 11-25-2011, 11:35 AM

Yeah that's what I've been reading.. I just think it'll have to be beneficial some how
Old 11-25-2011, 11:39 AM
CF Veteran

What it does is cleans, if you have buildup it will help, if not you may not notice much. If you havnt done it and you have some miles on it 80,000+ give it a go. Gas additive and vacuum induction methods I stand behind and recommend. The oil thing is up to you.
Old 11-25-2011, 11:53 AM

How do you do the vacuum method? And it could defiantly use it. I just turned 247000miles and undone think it's ever had anything ran through it before
Old 11-25-2011, 11:56 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1997

I've used it in my gas, intake & a tad in my oil.

Be careful using too much in your oil. You may find it removes sludge that you end up regret having removed. Some buildup may be stopping leaks. I have had good results using a small amount about 50-100 miles prior to changing my oil. Some people run it all the time and some claim that auto trans fluid works just as well in the oil. It also acts as a detergent.