Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Replacing timing chain. Got ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2012, 04:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Replacing timing chain. Got ?'s

Replacing the timing chain on my 89 4.0 Renix and had some questions since I've never done this before.
1: What else should I replace since I've got the front of the engine off?
2: What the easiest way to go about this? (example: Removing the entire front piece including grill)
3: Is there anything I need to watch out for when removing the old timing chain and installing the new one besides making sure it is lined up correctly?
Old 07-23-2012, 05:21 PM
CF Veteran

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors

have you ever replaced a timing chain in a engine b4?
Old 07-23-2012, 05:37 PM

Nope but there's a first time for everything
Talked to a couple of mechanics, but I'd like to get a few more opinions.
Old 07-23-2012, 05:50 PM
CF Veteran

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors

got a manual yet? if not get one ive done many but not a 4.0 yet ive heard theres a guide for keeping chain taugt id research that most important thing is alignment of dots on gears b4 removing and getting them back exact on install...
Old 07-23-2012, 06:21 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0L

This can be very time consuming and I would go as far to say its a bit difficult too.

Things to replace while you're there: Water pump, crank seal on timing cover, drive belt, thermostat (since coolant will be drained), and quite possibly the oil pan gasket (and if you're going that far then the real main seal). You should also closely inspect the harmonic balancer. Often the rubber insulator dry rots and the process of removing it may damage it.