Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Replacing the spider gears?

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2009, 11:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Replacing the spider gears?

A friend broke the two spider gears in the rear of his '90 XJ.
He has the Dana 35 with c-clips. I want to help him with a quick and cheap fix for it. I found that you can buy kits to replace the spider gears. I am a newbie at rear ends so what is involved in replacing the spider gears? Can this be done with the carrier unit still in and can it be done with the axles in? It looks like there might be clearance for the side gears to fit between the axles once I drive the cross pin out.
Are there any right ups on this - I didn't find any.
Any easier fixes?
Old 06-23-2009, 12:53 PM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 94
Engine: 4.0L

You need to remove the axleshafts, but C-clips are easier and faster.

The carrier stays in. Remove the centerpin retainer (rollpin or bolt), pull the center pin out. Then push the axleshafts in a tad and the c=clips should fall out, then back out the axleshafts some. Remove the broken spiders.

Make sure you use thrust washers on the new spiders, reinstall. For the two floating spiders you place them in position and rotate the sidegears pulling the floating spiders into position to reinstall the centerpin and bolt. Dont forget to reinstall the c-clips.
Old 06-23-2009, 04:40 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 90
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by OverlandXJ

The carrier stays in. Remove the centerpin retainer (rollpin or bolt), pull the center pin out. Then push the axleshafts in a tad and the c=clips should fall out, then back out the axleshafts some. Remove the broken spiders.