Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Old 09-10-2015, 02:53 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Powertrain: Fuel System
Print Wikipost

Replacing Fuel filter in 89 XJ

Old 12-02-2009, 10:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Replacing Fuel filter in 89 XJ

Hello everyone..

I believe my 89 XJ being starved of fuel.. It seems to have a lack of power at times when driving around town..I'm going to replace the fuel filter today to see if that solves the problem....
As this is my first time doing this, I do not know where the fuel filter is located??? What steps should I take in replacing it??

Any help is much appreciated...

Thanks
Old 12-02-2009, 10:17 AM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0l I6

Its under the rear end driver side. It looks like a little black piece the size of a potato. There is a write up in the Write Ups forum on how to replace the fuel filter. I have done it before on other vehicles. Its very easy just clamp the hoses so you dont get fuel everywhere.

Link is below.
https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f51/re...96-lower-5314/

Last edited by mycherokee; 12-02-2009 at 10:22 AM.
Old 12-02-2009, 11:43 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0L High Output

Also, your new fuel filter should have caps over each end. Have those caps ready to put on the old fuel filter once you get it off, there is a surprisingly large ammount of fuel in there and it'll just keep coming out. Those caps should make for a much easier cleanup though. the filter in on the inside of the frame rail, drivers side, in font of the gas tanks, kinda above the rear axle. As stated, it's a little balck cylinder/ barrell shaped object around the size of your average potato.
Old 12-08-2009, 02:41 PM