Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Rear Drum Brakes - Final Check

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2017, 10:41 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L L6 OHV 12V
Default Rear Drum Brakes - Final Check

Checking and double checking. Have watched several videos on refreshing drum brakes (Bleeping Jeep, Chris Fix It [going from memory, something like that]) and two others. Have read an article. Have a 91’ with a Dana 35 rear end. Also looked here and there on this forum.

May i please have input about gotchas or known issues with the drum brakes on the 91’ Cherokee Sport, 4L, 5 speed manual, non-abs. I am not a great mechanic, but want this to go smooth.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Rlmx; 10-30-2017 at 10:42 AM. Reason: misspelled a word
Old 10-30-2017, 12:15 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 1990
Engine: 4.0l

Do one side at a time if your new to it. That way you can look at other side if your not sure what goes where. Smaller shoe goes on forward side.
Old 10-30-2017, 12:16 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L

Take both rear wheels off and drums. Take only one side apart at a time and use the other side as your guide. Golden rule to drum brakes.
Old 10-30-2017, 12:19 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0L L6 OHV 12V

Thank you! None of the videos said that.
Old 10-30-2017, 12:21 PM
CF Veteran

Received 298 Likes on 253 Posts
Year: '96

One big problem I see mentioned a lot is not having components properly seated.
Old 10-30-2017, 12:26 PM
CF Veteran

good pair of vice-grips are nice to have too.
Old 10-30-2017, 12:59 PM
CF Veteran

Received 56 Likes on 41 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0l