Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

pour gas mileage

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2010, 10:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default pour gas mileage

im new to cf and im not sure if this has been covered before or not, but my question is, im getting like 11 miles to the gallon on my jeep. i have a 6" lift on it with 33in tires. ive been told the o2 sensor could be bad but was also told that if my check engine light isnt on then its ok. ive also been told, sense im running stock gears(3.55), i should go to 4.56s and the motor would turn the wheels easier hence giving me better mileage. but replacing the gears is a pretty penny. im just wondering if 11 miles to the gallon is normal for the set up im running and if so what would be the best fix. it is my daily driver.
Old 04-09-2010, 10:46 PM

Year: 2001

you got a check engine light? if not, you probably have no o2 sensor problems. is you driving in town? I get 13 in town on 235x75 r15 in my 01. if you are worried about the milage, you are gonna need to swap gears more than likely. or start simple. Are you plugs fresh?
Old 04-10-2010, 01:51 AM

Engine: i-6 4.0

i tossed a overhead console into my xj, between 45-60 i get around 18-22mpg, but once i get on the expressway and hit 70, i drop to 12-14.

and i have approx 4.75" lift, and 31's

try seafoaming it. this has helped multiple people, maybe change sparkplugs if you havent, cat could be getting clogged (doubt if no check engine light) those are all fairly simple things to do. you can also attempt to clean the front o2 sensor, the one that controls air/fuel mixture with something like seafoam deep creep or another o2 sensor safe cleaner
Old 04-10-2010, 02:35 AM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1992