Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Passenger Floorboard Rust Repair

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2019, 04:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0
Default Passenger Floorboard Rust Repair

Hello all,
I've used this forum many times for help with projects but this is my first time posting. I would like some advice on the best way to tackle this issue and hopefully this can help others who have a leak like my XJ.

For a few years, I've had a small leak onto the passenger floorboard. This only leaked when parked, and the front end higher than the back. When I would wash the car on my inclined driveway I would see a few drips on my floor mat. When it rained, I would just back up into the driveway so the rear end was higher than the front, and no leak.

Well this winter we've had a lot of rain in California, and one day I opened the passenger door and found a puddle of water. I pulled back the carpeting and found two areas on the pass floorboard with significant rust. I was able to stick a screwdriver through. I did research and thought that the water was leaking from the cowl into the fresh air intake, which it was.