Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

P1391 / Check Engine Light / Help

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2013, 12:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default P1391 / Check Engine Light / Help

First off, I think I've read every shred of advice when it comes to this nightmare I find myself in. So, thank you in advance if anyone has any new advice for me.

Some background first. The XJ is a '99 Sport, 4.0L, Auto, 157k, 3" lift, etc. etc.

About a year ago it left me stranded in a parking lot, cranked all day and no start. I'm an average mechanic, I know the basics. So After work I bought a tune up kit from autozone. Plugs, wires, dist. cap, rotor, coil pack, and an air filter. After changing all the parts in the dark and cold, it wouldn't start, was jumping it off my other car. I had left the coil pack flopping on it's own, and thinking that if I had it towed to a garage, the mechanic wouldn't know what was going on, so I tool the time to bolt it up where it was supposed to go. As a last ditch effort, I tried to jump it again and it started. So I left it overnight in the same parking lot, and the next day it started and drove normally. I went to the parts store for a battery/charging system test, battery came back bad (of course) but the alt. was fine. So, in goes a new battery. Two days later, in my driveway, same thing. Cranks all day and no start. CEL light is on. Can't remember when it came on.

This time it gets towed to a garage. The pull a code, P1391, and replace the cam sensor (under the dist cap) and it runs and drives, no code, and I get a Mass inspection sticker to boot.