Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

oil pan removal misery

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2016, 01:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default oil pan removal misery

I know there are a million posts on this topic, and I have read a bunch of them, which has gotten me this far.

It's so close!!! But I can't get the axle to swing forward enough for it the clear the transmission.

This is as close as I'm getting it to clearing the flywheel.

Here's another angle.

I saw one person hammered in their exhaust a bit to help... and it might but I'd hate to put a hole in the exhaust.

I put a couple wimpy ratchet straps around the axle to the front piece of metal above the bumper, but couldn't get any help that way.

Anyone have suggestions? Should I take off control arms? I've never done that before.
Old 04-02-2016, 01:22 PM

Also, the starter is off, the front sway bar and shocks are disconnected, I removed a bolt from the inspection plate on the passenger side that looked like it was in the way. I disconnected the tierod from the pitman arm so that whole bit would drop out of the way. My passenger side upper control arm looks like it's in the way, but that bolt looks like it wants to snap when I torque on it. I'll soak that with pb in the meantime.
Old 04-02-2016, 02:27 PM

Well, with the oil pump off, it seems like the pan might be able to come out forward at full droop... if I could get the track bar out of the way. That damn castle nut wont budge and the other end broke loose, but there's pressure holding it with the nut off and that's stuck.
Old 04-02-2016, 05:45 PM