Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Oil leak / Rear Main Seal

Old 10-09-2012, 11:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Oil leak / Rear Main Seal

Hi everyone, I have searched on here for a while without finding and answer. I just got my jeep in july and it had an oil leak that got worse. I changed out the valve cover gasket first thing, then did my rear main seal (2 piece) and oil pan gasket (1 piece). It now leaks slightly worse than before. I followed several write ups on here. Called my mechanic and he said there is some kind of crank repair kit. If anyone has any experience in this, please let me in on it. I am not a master mechanic but I know a little bit. Any help greatly appreciated! Thanks.
Old 10-09-2012, 11:45 AM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0 HO Straight Six

You forgot the oil filter adapter
Old 10-09-2012, 11:47 AM
CF Veteran

https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f2/oil...r-o-ring-9625/
Old 10-09-2012, 06:45 PM

Unfortunately, I changed that out already. Forgot to mention that. I have removed my pan and I amso going to reinstall all seals / gaskets. Does anyone know where all places I need to apply RTV?
Old 10-09-2012, 06:47 PM
Seasoned Member

There are a couple of youtube vids that identify those spots
Old 10-09-2012, 09:06 PM
CF Veteran

Just on the corners of the oil pan so that it doesnt shift from its place when bolting it back on.

Are you sure it's coming from the RMS? I'd make absolutely certain you know where it's coming from
Old 10-09-2012, 09:49 PM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4L, inline 6 cylinder

Can you see the leaking oil?
What us it,on? Transmission? Starter? Left ir right side of engine?