Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Oil all over...

Old 02-28-2012, 07:19 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 6 cyl
Default Oil all over...

Hey guys. So I'm pretty new to cars/Jeeps, so don't tell me I'm an idiot right now haha. I know how to change oil but I was in a slight predicament the past few days. I changed the oil but forgot to take the rubber O-tube off with the old filter, so when the new filter was on, there were now 2 O-tubes that caused a slow leak. I had to change it afterschool and didn't have a bucket - only had an oilpan and funnel. The oilpan filled up almost all the way, and since it was only 2 day oil, I reused it after fixing the filter. Now let's just say I spilled a solid amount of oil all over the engine. Anything I should do or just let it sit and work itself away? Thanks.
Old 02-28-2012, 07:41 PM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0L HO

Just take the filter off, no need to drain the crank case. Remove the extra gasket and re-install the filter. +/-1/2 qt. should get back between the min/max marks on the dipstick. Also, I'd get a roll of paper towels and get busy cleaning.
Old 02-28-2012, 07:43 PM
CF Veteran

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 1989 Laredo
Engine: 4.0 L 6 Renix

Spray bottle with dish soap and water, then hose it down.
Old 02-28-2012, 07:46 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Engine: 4.0L I6

I wouldn't hose down my engine compartment without putting plastic bags over a few things...

Engine degreaser and a scrub brush should work. Get off as much as you can.
Old 02-28-2012, 07:51 PM
CF Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989
Engine: 4.0l 6 cylinder